The Halász Medal Award (founded in 1997 by the Hungarian Society for Separation Sciences) as well as the Csaba Horváth Memorial Award (founded in 2004 by the Hungarian Society for Separation Sciences and presented jointly with the Connecticut Separation Science Council since 2010) will be presented during the Symposium.

Former awardees

Honored with the Halász Medal Award: 

  • †Csaba Horváth (1997) Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
  • Heinz Engelhardt (1997) Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany
  • Antoine Siouffi (1998) Université Paul Cézanne, Marseille, France
  • †Georges Guiochon (1999) University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, USA
  • †Ernst Bayer (2001) University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany
  • Barry L. Karger (2002) Northeastern University, Boston, MA, USA
  • Günther Bonn (2003) Leopold-Franzens University, Innsbruck, Austria
  • †Ervin Sz. Kováts (2004) École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne,
    Lausanne, Switzerland
  • †Uwe D. Neue (2005) Waters Corporation, Milford, MA, USA
  • Wolfgang Lindner (2007) University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • László Szepesy (2009) Budapest University of Technology and Economics,
    Budapest, Hungary
  • Gyula Vigh (2011) Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
  • Nobuo Tanaka (2013) Kyoto Institute of Technology, Kyoto, Japan
  • Janusz Pawliszyn (2015) University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada


Honored with the Csaba Horváth Memorial Award:

  • John Frenz (2004), Alnylam, Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Imre Molnár (2005) Molnar-Institute, Berlin, Germany
  • †Szabolcs Nyiredy (2007, posthumous) Research Institute for Medical Plants,
    Budakalász, Hungary
  • Danilo Corradini (2009) Institute of Chemical Methodologies of the Italian Research Council,
    Rome, Italy
  • Peter W. Carr (2010) University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
  • Günther Bonn (2011) Leopold-Franzens University, Innsbruck, Austria
  • Fred Regnier (2012) Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA
  • Pat Sandra (2013) Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
  • Joseph J. Kirkland (2014) Advanced Materials Technology, Wilmington, DE, USA
  • Peter Schoenmakers (2015) University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • James Jorgenson (2016) University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, USA